top of page
  • Writer's picturebri

First Time Motherhood

WHEW! Where do I even begin...


I had my beautiful little boy 3 months ago and he has been the love of my life since he was born. My pregnancy? That's a whole other story for another time...


3 months ago I "officially" started my journey into motherhood. I didn't think I'd be cut out for it. Babies always grossed me out. Baby poop? Nope. Drool and spit up? Hard pass. Trying to love someone else when I'm still learning how to love myself? Didn't think it was possible but boy was I wrong. I guess having a child to call your own changes the way you look at things. I couldn't wait for him to poop. I caught spit-up with my leg, my arm, my freaking chest, my hands...yep. I would have thrown up if it was someone else's child. Not with mine though, thankfully. It's amazing how much love you can have for such a little person. I look at him all the time in awe at the fact that I really MADE him. Like what?!? This little human grew inside my body and then I pushed him out. WHAT!? That's crazy! Moms are amazing! & now to think that I get to teach him, raise him, watch him grow...just wow. I now understand what my mom meant all these years saying I wouldn't know until I had my own.


Every time someone asks me how being a mom is, I always tell them it's awesome. Why? Because I genuinely love being a mama to this sweet little boy. Is it hard sometimes? Oh for sure. There was the baby blues, the PPD scare, there's him crying and me not knowing why and getting upset with him, the frustration I had to work through when he would wake up in the middle of the night when all I wanted to do was sleep...but it's so worth it. I love waking up to see him smiling at me and his dad. It's a learning process for sure but I love it! I love constantly learning new things with him, learning what he likes and doesn't like, learning what milestones he should be hitting soon, it's awesome, truly!


Every morning I wake up thankful for my current situation. This was not something I had planned out for myself in life just yet, but God had other plans. Not once did I see myself getting pregnant literally right after I graduated, before I was married, before we had our house built..none of it. It's crazy how things work out! I remember when I first found out we were going to have a baby..boy was I terrified. I knew God had a plan, though. I knew everything would work out the way it was supposed to and here we are with it all working out.


So I'm really not sure if there was a main point to this post other than just to say I love being Deklan's mom so there you have it! Leave any questions in the comments and I'll answer them in a future post!




22 views3 comments

Recent Posts

See All

A New Me

bottom of page